Car insurance comes in a variety of forms, each with financial protection for a certain set of circumstances. Each state has its own laws regarding required species and minimum amounts. The state of Florida requires the driver to obtain only two types of insurance — property damage liability and personal injury protection (PIP). The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles oversees the management of insurance law and non-compliance can result in the Department levying a large number of penalties.
In order to register a vehicle in Florida, a driver must obtain two types of insurance. Property damage pays out liability when the policyholder causes property damage, which may consist of the other driver’s vehicle or other type of property. Florida drivers must obtain at least $ 10,000 in coverage. Personal injury protection (PIP) insurance covers medical expenses — regardless of the fault – of the policyholder as well as her children or other family members and other passengers who are not the owner of a vehicle with its own PIP coverage.
Physical injury Liability
Personal Injury Liability (BIL) pays out insurance when the insured or someone under the policy causes an accident in which other people suffer serious or permanent injury or death. This coverage also provides legal representation if someone complains to the policyholder. Florida law does not require drivers to carry this insurance, but residents would like to consider implementing it to avoid injured parties from trying to get the costs directly to the person.
Maintaining non-insurance can result in a number of penalties. The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles may suspend the driver’s license, registration and license plates until the driver shows proof of insurance. A $ 150 fee will be charged for restoring driving privileges and may go up to $ 500 for subsequent violations.
Part-time residents and visitors
Every registered vehicle in the state must maintain the minimum insurance requirements regardless of whether the vehicle is in storage or otherwise not in use. Any person taking a vehicle in Florida for 90 out of 365 days (not to be consecutive) must have a policy that reflects the minimum requirements of the Florida insurance law.
Registration and Insurance
All Florida vehicles must have insurance and hold the entire registration period. Vehicles registered in the state must have a policy issued by a Florida insurance agent. If a driver no longer wants to insure a vehicle, she must surrender the registration and license plates to the department. Residents moving to another country should not cancel their insurance as long as the vehicle still holds Florida registration.